Join Jakada Imani in Conversation- live from Netroots Nation

 

I'm honored and humbled to invite you to be part of a crucial national conversation. Tomorrow, I will be speaking before the crowd at Netroots Nation and you can tune in!

During Stand your Ground Against Injustice, I will be joined by Rashad Robinson of Color of Change and Nicole Austin-Hillery of the Brennan Center for Justice to talk about how to end racism and injustice in our nation and what each of us can do to help.

Violence against people of color and the incarceration of poor folks is at a boiling point in our nation. In 2012 there has been a rash of high profile killings of Black children, who lost their lives simply for appearing 'threatening.' Meanwhile, we see mass incarceration also based in a culture of fear that sees poor communities of color as the problem, as threats, instead of as worthy of solutions.

We need to break the cycle, and we need to start now.

Join me for Stand your Ground Against Injustice by LiveStream tomorrow, Saturday June 9th at 9 AM PST, 11 AM CST, 12 Noon EST to start the conversation. You can also follow along with the Ella Baker Center team on Twitter by using the hash tag #standourground.